Being A Great Surplus Company

Posted on Updated on


Often asked, “is it difficult or hard to be a great surplus company?”.  I always find this to be an interesting question.  Having been in the surplus business for more than 25 years, I’ve seen it all.  I’ve seen the good, the bad, and the ugly.  I’ve seen good times and bad times.  I’ve seen it when the economy was booming, and I’ve see it when the economy was in recession.

To be a great surplus company, you must exemplify what I call the three (3) P’s —  PATIENCE, PERSISTENCE, and PRAYER.

Because this industry is very dynamic and it is very sensitive to economic changes, you can not get t0o far down when things are moving slowly.  You can not get too high when things are moving fast.  The very nature of the surplus business being dynamic and sensitive to economic occurrences can influence highs and lows of the surplus industry.  When things are slow, I practice patience.  I continue to be persistent with building my inventory and building relationships with my customers and suppliers.  Just as fast as things can go sour, they can change quickly.  To be successful in the surplus industry, you must have inventory.  A surplus company without inventory is a considered garage sale.  I build my inventory continuously.  I build relationships continuously. When times are good, I can maximize my sales because I will always have inventory.

Of course, there are other qualities toward being a great surplus company. I wanted to highlight a few of my thoughts.  I hope that you find it helpful.

Visit our website and have a look at our inventory.

WEBSITE:  http://industrialsurplusworld.com

3 thoughts on “Being A Great Surplus Company

    The Perfect Sale « Industrial Surplus World said:
    December 18, 2013 at 9:53 AM

    […] Being A Great Surplus Company (industrialsurplusworld.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Being A Great Surplus Company (industrialsurplusworld.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

    […] Being A Great Surplus Company (industrialsurplusworld.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

