Traveling Notes: Window Seat – Chapter 1

Posted on Updated on

It is often interesting for many businessmen, athletes, movie stars to be recognized for who they are, what they do but there is a secret price that all of them pay in return for all that adulation. It is the comfort of home. To these people the world becomes their home and different people as connections and relationships that one can find in the comfort of their home.

I was thinking about this on a flight to New York because I have lived my life this way as well. I have travelled for work and somewhere between connecting flights and stopping at various airports, I lost track of this constant motion and commotion that is not homely. Looking out of a window seat I heard a young family behind me trying to adjust their baggage along with two little infants. The parents were frustrated but they were hanging in tight. I was sitting ahead of them and was also ahead of them in life as a father and as a person. What they don’t realize is that in these struggles; they were home.

I remember driving from a job site from one city to another with my loving wife and little kids in the car. I value those times because I was at work but had my family with me. It was a choice that I made because I didn’t want my work to overshadow my responsibility as a father. Today I chuckle thinking about those times because being a father is a more daunting task than anything else. It was a personal achievement of sorts to manage everything together and still be able to continue earning a livelihood for the family. I believe that taught everyone in my family circle the value of being grateful and till today they are embedded with those morals.

Was my being a pioneer in Industrial Surplus and Equipment buying a reason for my family to be connected to me or the fact that I instilled these morals and values in them from an early age? – I would believe it is the latter because sometimes the only requirement of being a father is to, “Show up” – and I not only showed up at every juncture of their lives but I was there for them. Even though it must’ve been difficult for me as a young ambitious businessman to keep the ropes of my family intact, I knew that I was doing the right thing by not letting go of my wife and children for the sake of a living for my wife and children. To me, that car filled with my children, my wife and our mutual dreams of a better tomorrow was home. It was an inspiration for our journey to keep on adding miles and destinations for us to grow with each other, for each other.

Sometimes window seats open a different perspective to life. I immediately tried calling my children but my cell phone reception didn’t allow me to. I missed my children because they do grow up fast. I missed my wife and was excited to see her face.

About the Author

Gino Parker started out by helping companies clear out their yards from outdated surplus items they had. Today, he purchases surplus equipment and help companies to clear their property of unneeded scrap metals. He saw profit out of reselling Asset Recovery items to customers nationwide. Since then, Industrial Surplus, Inc. has been dealing with big companies and corporations to help them liquidate surplus equipment and inventory. He has 18 lay down yards all across the nation with a corporate office in Houston, Texas.

WEBSITE: http://industrialsurplusworld.com

Leave a Reply

